Smiling Through the Storm

There are some people who may say that once you trust Jesus as your Lord and Savior, your problems just disappear.  You live in this fantasy world where everything is good, and the world is peaceful and calm.  Wake up call…the world wasn’t like that before you were saved, so why should you expect it to be that way now?  The world hated Jesus, so it will hate His followers all the more.  And even in Christian communities the world isn’t perfect.  For instance, in the past 2 weeks I lost 2 Christian best friends.  Do I still love them?  Yes.  But our friendships aren’t what they used to be.

Last night, as I was thinking over all that happened these past two weeks, I realized how sad and miserable I have become.  There seems to be no hope, no life, left in me.  Why?  Because I was focusing on the storm rather than on the One who calms the storm.  I was forcused on the circumstances rather than the One who can change those circumstances.  However, when I lift my eyes to heaven, and keep my eyes focused on my Lord and Savior, I can look above the storm.  Sure the pain and trial is still there, but I can smile and enjoy life, because my eyes, and more importantly, my heart are fixed on the One who knows it all, cares about it all, and holds it all in His hands. 

And this is why, although the Christian life isn’t perfect, we still have joy and hope for a better and brighter future.  A forever future with our Lord and Savior, where every tear will be wiped away and pain and sorrow will be remembered no more. 

Leave a Reply

