A Broken Connection

“Why isn’t he texting me?”  “What’s he doing now?”  “Why does it seem that he no longer cares?”  “Does he even care, I mean, he doesn’t care enough to talk to me anymore?”  This may seem like a petty teenager, or some stuck up female from a chick-flick, but no.  This is me.  Or it has been me this past week.  You see one of my best friends has been preoccupied with his new job and some new things have now taken precedence in his life.  So I have asked myself these questions and many more over the past 7 days.

But that is not what I am here to write about.  I’m not here to rant about how much I’ve missed him.  Tonight I made a realization that God has been asking me the same questions.  You see, lately my prayer and spiritual life in general have not been what they should be.  Now I have never been a great Christian, or even a good one, but lately my life has been especially lacking.  I have been too preoccupied with my life and have rushed through my devotions, spending little thought on them.

Now this is not a guilt trip post either.  I am saying all this to warn you.  Don’t fall into the same trap I have.  We can all fall into daily routines, and our relationship with God is no different.  We can read our Bible’s but actually paying attention and focusing on the message can be difficult.  This is when God calls out to us, asking where we are.  Asking us why we are too busy for Him.  Asking us to take some time to bask in His presence. God calls out to us.  He wants to talk to us and have an actual relationship with us; but sometimes we don’t listen.  And that, my friends, is when we miss out on something incredible.  Think about this, the God of the universe wants to spend time with us, but we are too busy for Him.  Really?  This should not be.  What would our lives look like if we were all thirsty for God and just spent some actual quality time with him?  I think about how I have talked to my best friend a few times over the past week, but that it has been less than normal and how I really miss our nice long talks, and this is exactly what I’m talking about.  God wants more than just the small talk.  He wants a relationship, and a relationship takes time and strong communication.

Leave a Reply

