God, What are You Doing?

If you’re like me, you sometimes find yourself talking to Bible characters as you read their stories.  You ask the Jews why they just won’t trust God.  I mean, come on!  God did so much for them and they still disobeyed Him.  They still worshiped idols made of clay and stone.  Or you tell Peter not to deny Christ, that he’s going to regret it…BIG time!  You tell Thomas not to doubt, Jesus is really alive, your friends are telling the truth.  Well, today in particular, I told Moses to “just be patient.”

22 So Moses returned to the Lord and said, “Lord, why have You brought trouble on this people?  Why is it You have sent me?  23 For since I came to Pharaoh to speak in Your name, he has done evil to this people; neither have You delivered Your people at all.” (Exodus 5: 22,23)

You see, I know how the story ends.  The children of Israel will be released from Egypt and will become a great nation.  God just has to show His incomparable power to the Egyptians, so that not only will the children of Israel be allowed to go worship God, but they will also be released from their 400 years of bondage, and the surrounding nations will fear them, because they heard what God did to the Egyptians, and it was evident that God was on the Israelite’s side.  But Moses, he didn’t know any of this.  He had God’s promise of freedom, but could not see it.  For Moses it was a promise in the making instead of history, as it is for me.

This makes me think of my own life.  Just today I was giving advice to a friend, telling them not to fear but to trust God in their relationship.  I told them not to give the devil the foothold by fearing what might happen in the future.  Yet, at the same time, I was dealing with the same doubt and fear.  There are many days where I wonder if the relationship I want today will ever pan out.  There are days when I doubt, and I feel insecure.  I wonder if by the time I’m ready for a committed relationship, he will be long gone.  These are just some of my insecurities.  Some of the things that keep me up at night and make me question what God is doing in my life.

The funny thing is that, just like Moses, God knows my future.  He has seen it.  He has planned it.  So as I ask God “what are you doing,” He is telling me to be patient.  He knows how the story ends, just like I knew how Moses’ story ended.

I think that it is so easy to be critical of Bible characters.  We read and hear their stories so much, that they become old news; however, we live our lives just as they did.  Sure the Jews saw God’s miracles, but we have both the Old and New Testament miracles at our disposal.  We’ve also seen God working in our lives, and yet we choose to ignore Him.  Sure, Peter walked with Christ, but we have the whole Bible, and how often do we tell others about who God is verses how often do we live as a closet Christian?  And sure, Thomas had the witness of some of his closest friends that Jesus was alive, but we have the witness of so many more, 500+ people to be exact (1 Cor. 5:6), and yet, do we live as if we are children of the risen King?

My challenge to you is to live like you are the child of a risen King.  Tell others about Christ.  And don’t take it out so hard on Biblical characters.  You may just find that you are living in their footsteps, and don’t even realize it.

Leave a Reply

