When Being Single Becomes Overwhelming

Today I had a little talk with God , asking Him what I should do.  Telling Him that I am tired of being single, and even with all my outstanding friends and family around me, it can get lonely.

He told me to “Be still and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10).

So I asked Him what it meant to “be still,” and He told me to wait on him.  So I reminded Him that I had been waiting for 18 years, and still no one was coming around.  How much longer did I have to wait?

So He told me, “with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day” (2 Peter 3:8).

So I told Him that I was tired of waiting, and I didn`t want to do it any longer.  Therefor, He reminded me of the last time I had said that, and how I had rushed into a relationship I had no business being a part of.  He asked if I wanted to repeat that, so I said, “No.  I’ll wait.”

  • Psalm 27:14
  • Psalm 37:7, 34
  • Psalm 40:1
  • Psalm 62:5
  • Psalm 130:5
  • Proverbs 20:22
  • Isaiah 25:9
  • Lamentations 3:25,26
  • Isaiah 30:18

The Bible, as you can see for the small list of verses above, is continually telling us to wait. Wait.  Wait.  We are to wait for God, and to wait on His timing.  This can be so hard, especially because we are in a culture that is constantly going.  We do not want to sit back and wait, but we desire to jump into things head first, without weighing the consequences.  This is why we must purposely make time to stop and wait on God’s timing.  It could take years, or just minutes, but whatever you wait for will be so worth it in the end.

 

Leave a Reply

