I “Skipped” Valentine’s Day

Around 5:30 on February 14th, I was looking over my day and realized that I had skipped Valentine`s Day.  I didn’t dress up or really  do anything special for the day.  I basically went to classes, and stayed in my dorm for the rest of the day, except for when I went to the cafeteria to eat.  That was how I spent my Valentine’s Day, texting friends, yet keeping to myself, just like I do any other day.

Why?  Is it because I have a hatred of Valentine’s Day because it reminds me of my singleness?  No.  In fact I am very happy being single.  I do not hate seeing boyfriends treat their girlfriends to flowers and chocolate, just because I do not have a boyfriend or receive such gifts from a special someone.  I do not mind  seeing couples completely in love.  In fact, if I’m honest, they remind me of how things were just two months ago.  And no I did not skip it because of my recent breakup.  In fact, I really do not have  any resentment against expressions of love.

I say all this just to contradict myself.  I can get lonely at times, wondering and dreaming if the one for me will ever come around, or if he is just a figment of my imagination.  It can be hard when it seems like the rest of the young adults my age have a significant other, and I haven’t even had a single boyfriend.  Society and the pictures that they feed us can hurt.  They tell us that you need to find the one  you’re going to spend the rest of your life with, now.  It tells us to pursue love at any cost, for it is the highest calling.  They say that the teenage years are the years to pursue as many relationships as possible to find out what you like and do not like in the opposite sex.

So why did I skip Valentine’s Day?  Do I have a thing against love or not?  The answer is no.  In fact, if you read some of my other blogs, you will see that I have been doing a Bible study on love.  I have been trying to figure out what love actually is and what it looks like, rather than what the world calls love.  I want to know what true love is so that when it does come I can recognize it.  The reason for skipping Valentine’s Day is easy.  People make way too big a deal about it.  If you truly love someone, whether in the romantic, friendship, or family way, Valentine’s day should be every day.  It is a day to be used to express your love for others, not to be overly commercialized and exploited.

Leave a Reply

