No Matter What the Test

“I will sing, of God’s mercy.  Every day.  Every hour.  He gives me power.  I will sing and give thanks to Thee, for all the dangers, toils and snares that He has brought me through.  He is my God, and I’ll serve Him.  No matter what the test, trust and never doubt, Jesus will surely bring you out.  He never failed me yet.”-Robert Ray, He Never Failed Me Yet.

Today I wanted to share with you what this song means to me.  It’s a wonderful “swinging” song, that we sing in choir, and it requires a lot of soul to sing it properly.  Anyways, earlier today, and last night, I was slightly distressed. You see, I was afraid that I would not be able to attend college in the fall, due to the fact that I had job training that ran three weeks into the school year.

During choir practice, we were singing this song, and it took on a whole new meaning for me.  I knew that the only thing I could do was trust God to take care of this, as He had taken care of so many other things beforehand.  I knew I had to put Him and His ways, His plans, before my own.  And I also knew that He was going to take care of it.

After choir practice, I walked, a little reluctantly I might add, to the registrar’s office.  I wasn’t sure what they were going to say, and was afraid that they would tell me that I couldn’t do that.  However, I did what I had to do and asked what the possibility would be of starting three weeks into the semester.  They said that it would be hard, but not impossible.  They told me that it had been done before.  This lifted my spirits, and has been an answer to prayer.

It may be rough at first, but “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me,” Philippians 4:13.  I just need to trust God to help me through this next test, and the one after that, and the one after that.

Leave a Reply

